Ball Hockey Leagues Find A League Near You!!!

A+ R A-


E-mail Print PDF

Metro OrangemenThe Metro Orangemen are your 2012 Fall Champions. After another one goal game the Orangemen defeated the Toronto Thunder 3-2 on a goal by Ricky DaPonte and his patented one timer. Both games in the finals came down to the last two minutes of regulation standing at ties before goals by Terry Roache in game one and DaPonte in game two earned the Orangemen a Premier Championship. Part of the big trade between these two teams DaPonte came back to haunt his old mates with a pair of goals in the biggest game of the year. The Orangemen have now earned a seat at the upcoming National Ball Hockey Association National Championships.

Watching this young group grow and mature over the last five years the Orangemen have earned the right to be called Premier Champions. The additions of the four veterans Danny Pacheco, Andy Pacheco, Glen Bradbury Jr. and Ricky DaPonte tipped the balance of power in their new teams favour. These veterans and the glutton of young players the Orangemen have stock piled has given this team the pieces in place for numerous Championships. Much of the credit must be placed on the mind trust and the threesome behind the bench Marcel Vieira, Manny Correia and Glen “Pops” Bradbury who prepare this group to compete to the best of their abilities game in game out.

The Orangemen took control of the division from the first game and rode the wave all the way to the final horn. Claiming first place and the number one seed the Orangemen played consistent, calm hockey throughout the entire season. Even when they fell behind the never panicked and their maturity shone through in volumes. With arguably the best defence core in the game today Danny Pacheco, Chris Creador, Chris Cerqueira, Joe Pontes, Adam Carreria and Jason Querioga did their jobs with efficient consistency keeping the game close and giving their offence a chance to win games.

Offensively Ricardo Pires was the go to sniper of the group, the addition of Andy Pacheco, Glen Bradbury and Ricky DaPonte added the depth lacking in previous seasons. Along with veterans Terry Roache and Paul Lima the group was rounded out with many rising super stars. Gary Costa. Brian Carvalho, Nelson Pacheco, Sergio Vidal, Steve Lindo, and Carlos Batalha all added their part to the Championship run. Either through a timely goal or a big hit they all played a role.

You need good goaltending if you’re going to win Championships and the Orangemen have their star in Craig Flegel. Throughout the year Flegal has given his team a chance to win every game. Positionally solid and with quick reflexes the opposing teams found it tough to find a way to beat him. The best attribute a goaltender can have is never giving up the “next goal” the goal that would essentially put the game out of reach and Craig proved that may be his best talent. In that crucial game two victory Craig after falling behind2-0 slammed the door shut for the next thirty three minutes giving his team the chance to win and they did.

For his stellar play in shutting down two of the highest powered offences in the Express and Thunder Craig Flegel was named the Most Valuable Player of the playoffs.

On behalf of the Premier Division, OBHA and the DPBHL I would like to congratulate the entire Metro Orangemen organization on their first Premier Division Championship.


With the conclusion of another season I would like to take this opportunity to thank all the members and teams of the Premier Ball Hockey League that participated in our Fall season. To all our staff, officials and fans I would like to thank you for your loyalty and support during the season. To the people behind the scenes Dominic DiGironimo, Mauro Cugini and Jamie Robillard who always had time to lend a hand to ensure that the Premier Division continues to be the leader in top notch Ball Hockey across the Province we Thank You.

Peter Lorusso
Premier Commissioner

онлайн фильмы